First Things about My Kitchen

Dear Smidgen, she is one of beautiful ladies and bloggers that I love to follow her blog.  Today in her post, she is talking about firsts in our life…

http://justasmidgen.com/2011/10/27/number-one-salad-and-the-first-of-many/#comment-623

To be honest I haven’t thought of this before… This reading piece made me to think my firsts… I try to remember now,

1) “First time helping Mom” …. there is not any memory about this in my mind… I just remember my grandmother and her beautiful cooks… I watched her so many times in the kitchen when I was a little girl. But again I don’t remember did I help her…

2) “First time licking the beaters” or spoon or entire bowl… nothing comes to my mind…

3) “First recipe card”…  I think my first recipe cards from some of my friends and some of newspapers, etc. I remember when I got married I started to cook… I mean to be in the kitchen seriously! But I would be so glad if I had recipes of my grandmother. I never asked her and she never taught me… This is strange now for me. Maybe I wasn’t interesting with the kitchen in that time…  

4) “First cookbook“… ah, yes! I have, especially in early years of my marriage I bought so many cookbook and still I buy. My firs cookbooks were in my own language.

This book is my first cookbook in English language. When I found it in secondhand book store, I was so happy, I remember. This is now antique book.

And my last cook books are one of my favurite names in Turkish Cuisine.

5) “First recipe mastered…” Zeytinyağlı yaprak sarma (means stuffed grape leaves with olive oile and being served cold)

6) “First bake sale”… My first experience about sale something food was about a fisherman. In the past again, when I was a young girl, I sold fishes for this old fisherman. During summer times we always stayed in Yalova, it is a city now. And our house was in a little village (one of villages of this city, near to Istanbul at the Izmit Bay) There was an old fisherman in this village. And every morning at dawn time he was going for fishing with his boat. One day when it was at the sea, the storm started and the waves were very huge… The day seemed to us never finished… But at the end he reached the sea side… He was so tired and got wet… Everybody did something for him, and me, this crazy nia, took all his fishes in to a box and then started to sell them in the streets…. The old fisherman told me their prices, and I said ok, don’t worry, I will sell of them. And yes, I sold all his fishes BUT not in the price that he told me. It was the most expensive fishes that were sold that day… When he learned this he was angry, but then he smiled to me and said to me, “you should sell my fishes! Thank you crazy nia!”…. I should add this too, I learned so many things about life, sea, even fishes from this old man… When 17th August earthquake hit this area, first of all I thought of him and his family… There are so many memories and always make me cry. I prayed once again for him.

7)   “First kitchen”… What a shame I don’t have any picture of my first kitchen…. When we got married we lived in such a beautiful old house. It was really very old… But we loved it both. And we decorated all house. Whenever I remember this house, makes me sad because we left it. But we had to do this. It was being so cold and and so wet… But in any case we would have to leave it because a few years ago it was collapsed and built a new taller apartment instead of this… So this lovely old house stayed in my memories… This was a rent house… So in times, we had our own house and I can say this is my another first kitchen that we decorated with my son. One summer we painted according to my idea… At the beginning the red colour was the concept in my kitchen but I’ve changed it, now the blue colour is the concept of my kitchen. I made the curtains (cross-stitch) all blue tones roses… and everything in the kitchen I tried to find in blue colours… Still I am looking for new objects/equipments in blue colours…

 with some of my watercolours… but we painted together with my son the window decoration with the fruits…

7) “First set of dishes”… I think it was my mother-in-law’s gift… Some of lovely porcelain plates that were from her wedding days… Today I use them just for a decoration… Because they are so precious for me…

8) “First dinner party”…. I remember this very well. We invited a Canadian businessman to our home for a dinner. He was here and working with my husband. We always took him to some Turkish restaraunts and it was always so interesting for him to taste Turkish cuisine. And one day we decided to invite to a dinner in home. There were some of our Turkish friends too. I was so excited for this dinner. It would be the first time I will cook so many things and to prepare a dinner party. But at the end everything was so nice… 

9)  “First time baking cookies with your own kids “… With my son we had a wonderful times in the kitchen… I taught, I shared everything in the kitchen… And today he can cook by himself… Especially what he likes so much. It was also so enjoyable to be in the kitchen with him. I can’t believe he was helping me when he was in tree or four years old… Today he is more creative than me in the kitchens and he likes cooking… There was always a tea time in the afternoon when he was a little boy, and it was our Alice Wonderland’s tea time table for us… with red squared pattern of a table cloth and chocolate cakes and animal shapes cookies…

 

6 thoughts on “First Things about My Kitchen

  1. Dearest Nia, I had no idea you had this other blog! I’m so glad I finally stumbled upon it, because of course it’s quite beautiful. And I hadn’t the slightest idea of what a gifted painter you are, and how much other creativity you have besides your wonderful photography. Now I am just so much more amazed–and I was quite impressed with you from the beginning! What a lovely, sweet gift this is to find today. Thank you, my friend!
    Love from Kathryn

  2. Oh, Nia, this is such a beautiful post… I’m so touched that you could share this with your readers. I, too, did not know about this blog but have now added you:) my friend! I love your stories, they are all so exotic to me. You live in a country that I know nothing about and now I feel like I have travelled there and had tea in your kitchen. I so love your kitchen window with the pretty curtains and your beautiful watercolor paintings… What are the little bit hanging in the window? They look like itty bitty sweaters… so sweet and cheerful. How old is your son, he is so lucky to have you for his mother. xo Barb

    • Thank you so much dear Barbara, you are so nice. It would be so nice to have a cup of tea with you. Who knows, maybe one day! Welcome to my little crazy world, dear Barbara! As you see I am crazy with all these little things. I love to knit little sweaters… You are right, they are all itty bitty sweaters. My son, he is a young man now, he is 29 years old! I should be lucky to have a nice son. Once again Thank you dear Barbara, Have a nice day, with my love, nia

Leave a Reply

