Nostalgia

… we (my love and I)  had an interesting conversation this Sunday morning. What evoked us, I don’t know  but we almost went to the back… Are we too older people?

A little note, my love reminded me the beginning of this conversation. In our youth years, people especially who lived in the European side, were all moving to their summer houses. Mostly their summer houses were in the Princess’ Islands and also in the Asian coast of the city. So people almost moved their goods and furniture too to the summer houses… It wasn’t easy at the beginning of the summer and then turn back to the city at the end of the summer. By the ships they were moving… But today, people, if they have a summer house, they have everything in their houses. No needs to move the furniture or white goods… You only take your baggages, etc.

In my grandparents'(my mother’s) home there was refridgerator, short and fat 🙂 I remember like that… and it was there in the kitchen, I mean in all the houses of my grandparents, never changed… it worked for years… Todays’ white goods have a short time for their lifespan… They don’t build them like they used to. Remember that old washing machine you bought back in the 1980s? The one that seemed to go on for ever…

But the point was not this for our conversation. We just wanted to remember of old machines in our life… I remember the “meat-safe”,

meat safe

9ac173587816b92cf375f2ddc539edbf

It was in the village home of my grandparents (my father’s)…  I supposed that it was wired because of mouse, etc. But later I learned that it should be aired…

Then we tried to remember the oven, cookstove, etc. My love told me that in their house there was gas stove with a pump…maybe we don’t use them  anymore but in wild life especially for mountaineers, etc. it’s being used still.

1

But I don’t remember them… In Istanbul, in my grandparents’ kitchen there was coal gas system. In the city there were gas stations…

dbahce216704

In Istanbul  gas production is started in order to clarify the Dolmabahçe Palace for the first time in 1853. In Yedikule 1878 until after 1891, carried out by private companies with foreign capital in Kadikoy production and distribution business changed hands a few, then transferred  to İETT the speed laws.
Beyoglu concession expired in 1984. Polygon IETT the transfer in the Gas Plant, would be a monopoly in gas production and distribution. And engaged in production and sales, where about a thousand people work, the daily average capacity score of 300 thousand cubic meters, 80 thousand subscribers. Istanbul for years summer or winter business that, due to enter everyday life and restore technology for natural gas, in June 1993 to be liquidated .

And I remember, there was kitchen stove in our house in the Anatolia. The kitchen was a big room. And I loved to be there. There was a big  earthenware jar  and I always left the it open… they warned me always… I didn’t drink water from the jug, but I loved to drink from the earthenware jar  with a big shovel… The kitchen stove was so nice… all my life I wanted to have one of them in my home too…

Then we remember the telephones in our life…

depositphotos_36550189-old-telephone-switchboard-closeup

alt_telefon

Eski Cep Telefonlarını İşyerinde Sergiliyor

Eski Cep Telefonlarını İşyerinde Sergiliyor

eski-telefon-modeli

Santral-Resmi

old_new

time-warner-cable-pays-me-25-per-month-to-have-a-landline-i-never-use-heres-why1

Briefly, we, our generation have experienced and saw all of them… But today, even my son and new generation don’t know them… They are all being born in today’s technologies… Of course there are more goods, and details change from time to time… But when we both remembered them all, it made me to think, are we too older, my love 🙂

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Nostalgia

Leave a Reply

