Travel of Tibet for Children

5.19.Aria-posing-on-a-yak-Lake-Yamdrok-Tso-Tibet

http://karenmaric.com/life-in-china/tibet/

Some Tips for Parents Taking Small Kids to Tibet…

I guess the number one concern of parents taking their children to Tibet would have to be altitude sickness. Here are a few tips to help kids deal with it…

  • Don’t worry if they don’t eat too much. Decreased appetite is normal when arriving at higher altitudes. But do make them drink plenty of water. Liquids help with acclimatisation.
  • Explain to your kids that they might feel a little unwell when they arrive in Tibet. Make it clear that they should tell you if they feel headachy or nauseous so that you can get help. But don’t overreact! Our kids were 3 and 4 ½ when we went to Tibet, and other than being a bit irritable at first, they didn’t suffer any ill effects from the altitude.
  • Take things very easy for the first two or three days. Make sure your kids have plenty of time to rest to allow their bodies to acclimatise.
  • Remember to take care of yourself! Altitude sickness can be exacerbated by carrying weights, and that includes carrying your children. We found ourselves really over-exhausted after carrying our kids a lot on our first couple of days in Lhasa. Investing in a stroller might be a good idea!
  • Leave your visit to the Potala Palace for the last days of your time in Lhasa. There are a lot of steep stairs there, and children will struggle with them. So will you, when you end up carrying your kids up them.
6 thoughts on “Travel of Tibet for Children

  1. this is a beautiful photo. the animal looks quite proud because of the decorations. the child looks a bit tentative but still enjoying herself. what a nice memory for her. –michael

    • I haven’t thought of this before, I mean children travel to Himalayas… It really impressed me. Last few days I have read so many travel diaries from different persons, but from my country. All details and all difficulties, and also all beauties were explained. I didn’t know there are many people travelling there from my country too. But dear Mukul, I can see this, how impossible for me to travel Himalayas. It would have been very hard for me, for my health… But I travel at my desk now 🙂 especially your beautiful sharing and photographs take me every time another voyage in Himalayas… Thank you, have a nice day, Love, nia

      • Difficult only at High altitude. You can see Himalays as lower altitude also. In Turkey you think in Metric system like Metres or American system like Feet/inches??

  2. Yes, it is not easy. We use metric systems… but I haven’t been also in 4000 mt yet too… In any case it is not easy for me. Just I keep this great mountains in my dreams 🙂 Thank you dear Mukul, Love, nia

Leave a Reply

